Schwanengasse 12 P.O.Box CH-3001 Berne Phone +41 31 322 69 11 Fax +41 31 322 69 26 info@ebk.admin.ch www.sfbc.admin.ch



Eidgenössische Bankenkommission Commission fédérale des banques Commissione federale delle banche Swiss Federal Banking Commission

Media Release

 Contact
 Tanja Kocher

 Phone
 +41 31 323 08 57

 Fax
 +41 31 322 69 26

 E-mail
 tanja.kocher@ebk.admin.ch

 Embargo
 –

The SFBC has elected the members of the Swiss Takeover Board for the 2004-2007 term of office.

Elections to the Takeover Board

December 29, 2003 – The Swiss Federal Banking Commission has elected Anne Héritier Lachat as Vice-chairman of the Takeover Board (TOB). Anne Héritier Lachat has been a member of the TOB since 2000 and replaces Ulrich Oppikofer, who retires at the end of the year.

Prof. Henry Peter and Dr. Hans Rudolf Widmer have been elected to the Board. They replace Ulrich Oppikofer and Peter Hügle, who is also retiring at the end of 2003. Henry Peter is a lawyer based in Lugano, Professor of Commercial Law at the University of Geneva and Director of the postgraduate studies in Commercial Law at the Universities of Geneva and Lausanne. Hans Rudolf Widmer is, until the end of 2003, a member of the Group Executive Committee and Chief Financial Officer of Rieter Holding AG and a member of the Accountancy Panel of SWX Swiss Exchange.

The two new members were elected and the remaining Board members re-elected for the 2004-2007 term of office.

The TOB (<u>www.takeover.ch</u>) was established under the Federal Act on Stock Exchanges and Securities Trading and monitors compliance with the provisions applicable to public takeover offers. It currently is composed of ten members.