Schwanengasse 12 P.O.Box CH-3001 Berne Phone +41 31 322 69 11 Fax +41 31 322 69 26 info@ebk.admin.ch www.sfbc.admin.ch



## Media release

Contact Alain Bichsel
Phone +41 31 322 67 12

E-mail alain.bichsel@ebk.admin.ch

Embargo

## Luc Thévenoz elected President of the Takeover Board

23 November 2007 – The Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC) elected Luc Thévenoz President of the Takeover Board (TOB) as of 1rst January 2008. Luc Thévenoz holds the position of Full Professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva since 1993 where he also directs the Center for financing and banking law. Since 2001, he is a member of the SFBC as well as of the Takeover Chamber of the SFBC since 2003. He previously was a member of the TOB during two years. Luc Thévenoz will leave the SFBC by the end of 2007.

Four members of the TOB will withdraw at the end of their official mandate (2004 - 2007):

- Hans Rudolf Widmer, President, member since 2004
- Claire Huguenin, Vice-president, member since 1998
- Maja Bauer-Balmelli, member since 1999
- Alfred Spörri, member since 1995

The SFBC thanks those four personalities for their efforts and on-going committment as well as for having put their knowledge at the disposal of the TOB. Their work contributed in an important way to develop the Swiss pratice in the takeover matter.

Hans Rudolf Widmer directs the TOB since 2005. The SFBC thanks him very much especially for having been, at the time, ready to takeover at a moment's notice the presidency of the TOB, for his excellent performance, for his extraordinary commitment to the TOB and his courage to take innovating decisions. This change takes place within the reorganization of the authorities planned for 1rst January 2009.



Have been reelected for another official mandate (2008 - 2011):

- Raymond Breu, member since 2002
- Thierry de Marignac, member since 2000
- Susan Emmenegger, member since 2005
- Walter Knabenhans, member since 1999
- Henry Peter, member since 2004
- Thomas Rufer, member since 2007

The nomination of the vice-president as well as any other members of the TOB will take place in a second phase.