Longer-term trends and risks: climate risks

FINMA has also identified risks that could have an impact on the Swiss financial centre over the longer term. These include risks relating to climate change, which we explore in more detail below. Other long-term risks include an ageing society, the increasing individualisation of insurance based on big data, and risks for wealth management in a market with falling values of financial instruments.

The Paris climate agreement states that the financial industry has a role to play in the transition to a more sustainable economy. On the one hand this presents opportunities, but on the other both climate change and its repercussions also represent potential finan­cial risks for financial institutions.

Given its legal mandate, FINMA’s focus here is on ­finance-related climate risks to financial institutions. These risks can be broken down into two categories, physical risks and transition risks. Physical risks encompass increasing damage and cost to the economy as a result of climate-related natural catastrophes and gradual climate change. Risks of this kind could result in significant losses for insurance and reinsurance companies. Transition risks arise as a result of action taken on climate policy or disruptive technological breakthroughs. These could trigger rapid price adjustments of assets that have not yet been adequately anticipated by markets, e.g. in highly carbon-intensive sectors such as energy, manufacturing or transportation. The more countries delay in taking effective measures to achieve climate targets, the more invasive such measures are likely to be. There is a possibility that the markets will not price in the corresponding risks until a late stage, but will then do so aggressively. The losses on the investments (asset side of the balance sheet) of banks, wealth man­agers and insurance companies could weigh on their profitability. Climate risks have very specific characteristics, including prolonged time horizons, unclear impact pathways and a number of uncertain variables in the area of climate policy. This makes it difficult for institutions to manage investments appropriately with existing instruments. Financial institutions and supervisory authorities are therefore also working at an international level to integrate climate risks more closely into risk management processes, develop and deploy appropriate approaches and instruments for measuring and mitigating risks, and ensure transparent disclosure of the corresponding risks. In the supervisory authority and central bank context, a lead­ing role in this respect is played by the Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS). 

In the future, FINMA will refine its analyses of cli­mate-related risks in the balance sheets of financial institutions and develop approaches for improved voluntary or regulated disclosure of financial climate risks.

(From the Risk monitor 2019)

Backgroundimage

Risques et tendances à long terme : les risques climatiques

La FINMA a aussi identifié des risques qui pourraient influencer à plus long terme la place financière ­suisse. En font partie les risques relatifs au changement climatique qui seront exposés plus en détail ci-après. Parmi les autres risques à long terme, on compte le vieillissement de la société, le respect de la vie privée des preneurs d‘assurance menacé par de nombreuses collectes de données ainsi que les risques pour la ­gestion de fortune sur un marché où les évaluations des instruments financiers baissent.

Les accords de Paris sur le climat posent que la branche financière a un rôle à jouer dans la transition vers une économie plus durable. S’il est synonyme d’opportunités pour les établissements financiers, le changement climatique et ses conséquences est aussi gros de risques financiers potentiels pour les établissements financiers.

Conformément à son mandat légal, l’attention de la FINMA se concentre sur les risques climatiques liés à la finance pour les établissements financiers. Ces risques peuvent être répartis en deux catégories : risques physiques et risques de transition. Les risques physiques concernent la menace d’une hausse des sinistres et des coûts pour l’économie suite à des catastrophes naturelles et aux variations graduelles du climat. De tels risques peuvent engendrer des pertes substantielles pour les entreprises d‘assurance et de réassurance. Les risques de transition résultent des mesures prises au niveau de la politique environnementale ou des percées technologiques disruptives. Celles-ci peuvent déclencher des adaptations rapides des prix, lesquelles pour le moment ne sont pas suffisamment prises en compte par les marchés, par exemple dans les secteurs consommant beaucoup de matières premières comme l’énergie, l’industrie ou le transport. Plus des mesures efficaces pour réaliser les objectifs climatiques seront prises tard, plus de telles mesures devront être drastiques. Il n’est pas à exclure que les marchés n’intègrent les risques décrits tardivement, mais au prix d’adaptations profondes. Les pertes correspondantes pourraient par exemple se répercuter, via les placements (à l’actif du bilan), sur la rentabilité des banques, gestionnaires de fortune et assurances. Les risques climatiques présentent des caractéristiques propres, par exemple des horizons temporels très longs, des enchaînements de causes et d’effets parfois peu clairs ainsi que des variables incertaines dans le domaine de la politique environnementale. Cela n’est pas sans mettre la gestion adéquate des placements par des instruments habituels devant des défis. Les établissements financiers et les autorités de surveillance travaillent donc aussi à une échelle internationale à intégrer plus fortement les risques climatiques dans les processus de gestion des risques, à développer et à mettre en place des instruments et approches appropriés pour mesurer et réduire les risques ainsi qu’à garantir une publica­tion transparente des risques correspondants. Dans ce contexte, le Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) joue, parmi les autorités de surveillance et les banques centrales, un rôle moteur.

La FINMA va affiner ses analyses des risques liés au climat dans les bilans des établissements financiers et développer des approches pour une meilleure publication, volontaire ou régulée, des risques climatiques financiers.
(Extraits du Monitorage des risques 2019)

Backgroundimage