Sustainable finance and climate risks

FINMA is addressing the subject of climate-related financial risks as part of its supervisory remit. It is also reviewing regulatory measures to increase transparency regarding such risks in the financial system. In addition, it is focusing on the risk of greenwashing in the provision of financial services and the distribution of financial products.

Climate change and the associated regulatory measures bring opportunities and risks for the financial economy. Various national and international initiatives have been launched to address this subject. FINMA is involved in work being carried out by the federal authorities on sustainability in the financial economy and is supporting the analysis being conducted by the working group on sustainable finance headed by the State Secretariat for International Finance (SIF) with its technical expertise. FINMA has also been a member of the Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) since 2019. This network of international central banks and supervisors is committed to better understanding and managing the financial risks of climate change.

Focus on potential risks

In line with its mandate, FINMA is primarily responsible for supervising compliance with the legal requirements in the financial market area. In accordance with the financial market acts, FINMA’s mission is to protect creditors, investors, and insured persons as well as to ensure the proper functioning of the financial markets. It follows from this that its focus in connection with the climate issue is also on the potential risks for prudentially supervised institutions. From a consumer protection perspective, the risk of greenwashing in the provision of financial services and the distribution of financial products is of significance for FINMA.

Integrating climate risks into risk management

Climate change is an increasing risk factor for the economy and for society at large. The effects of climate change could also pose significant financial risks for financial institutions in the longer term. On the one hand, climate change entails physical risks for market participants, particularly for insurance companies, for example in the form of rising natural catastrophes and their associated costs. On the other hand, financial institutions can be indirectly affected by so-called transition risks as a result of action taken on climate policy. For example, illiquid assets in affected sectors can be exposed to increased valuation risks in the balance sheets of financial institutions. With respect to these potential climate-related financial risks for the financial market, FINMA deems it important that the supervised institutions are managing these risks appropriately. The onus is on them to minimise potential climate risks and, where necessary, to develop their instruments and processes to this end. These climate-related financial risks can be translated into the traditional risk categories of credit, market, insurance or operational risks and should be identified using these. Thus, this is not a new risk category, but a new risk driver. In principle, financial institutions can build on their existing risk management. However, new developments and risk drivers must also be identified effectively and managed appropriately as part of risk management.

Measures by FINMA

For its part, FINMA analyses where there could be increased risks in connection with climate change for supervised Swiss institutions (see Risk Monitor 2019). The process for this is comparable to that for other risk drivers. By conducting its own analyses and entering into dialogue with the supervised institutions, associations, non-governmental organisations and academia, increased financial risks at individual institutions can be identified. FINMA’s main focus here is on the biggest supervised institutions, where institution-specific analyses are being conducted.

 

From a consumer protection perspective, FINMA is also addressing the risks of greenwashing in the provision of financial services and the distribution of financial products. Consumers may not be deceived by exaggerated or misleading claims about “green” properties, for example in the case of investment products.

 

In addition, FINMA is reviewing approaches for improved disclosure of financial climate risks. More comprehensive and uniform disclosure of their own climate-related financial risks by the biggest financial market players can improve transparency and market discipline.

 

In view of the still ongoing discussion regarding the exact definition of climate policy measures, FINMA also considers it important to raise awareness of the corresponding risks among the supervised institutions. Collectively, financial institutions and supervisory authorities around the world are still in the process of developing an established practice. In particular, they are working to develop and adopt suitable approaches and instruments to measure and minimise the risks as well as to ensure the transparent disclosure of the corresponding risks. In the supervisory authority and central bank context, a leading role in this respect is played by the Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS).

FINMA Risk Monitor 2019

Updated: 10.12.2019 Size: 0,32  MB
Add to personal download list
Backgroundimage

Finance durable et risques climatiques

La FINMA s’intéresse au thème des risques financiers liés au climat dans le cadre de son activité de surveillance. Elle vérifie aussi des mesures réglementaires visant à augmenter la transparence de ces risques dans le système financier. Elle observe aussi de près le risque d’écoblanchiment («greenwashing») dans les services financiers fournis et dans la distribution de produits financiers.

Les changements climatiques et les mesures réglementaires liés représentent à la fois des opportunités et des risques pour le monde financier. Différentes initiatives nationales et internationales sont dédiées à ce thème La FINMA est impliquée dans les travaux de l’administration fédérale concernant la durabilité dans le secteur financier et elle soutient aussi, par son expertise, les analyses du groupe de travail Sustainable Finance, dirigé par le Secrétariat d’Etat aux questions financières internationales (SFI). La FINMA est, de plus, membre depuis 2019 du Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS). Ce réseau d’autorités de surveillance et de banques centrales internationales s’engage pour une prise en compte des risques climatiques et environnementaux dans le secteur financier.

Accent mis sur les risques potentiels

Conformément à son mandat, la FINMA a pour tâche principale de veiller au respect des prescriptions légales sur le marché financier. Son mandat légal consiste, en s’appuyant sur les lois existantes régissant les marchés financiers, garantir la protection des créanciers, des investisseurs et des assurés ainsi que le bon fonctionnement des marchés financiers. Elle met donc aussi l’accent, en lien avec la thématique du climat, sur les risques potentiels des établissements soumis à une surveillance prudentielle. Du point de vue de la protection des clients, le risque d’«écoblanchiment» dans les services financiers fournis et la distribution de produits financiers est important pour la FINMA.

Intégrer les risques climatiques à la gestion des risques

Le changement climatique est un facteur de risque croissant pour l’économie et la société. Pour les établissements financiers, les effets du changement climatique peuvent aussi entraîner à long terme des risques financiers importants. Le changement climatique recèle d’une part des risques dits «physiques» pour les acteurs du marché, notamment pour les entreprises d’assurance, par exemple lorsque les catastrophes naturelles dues au climat et les coûts qui en découlent augmentent. Les établissements financiers peuvent d’autre part être concernés, indirectement, par des risques dits «de transition», par exemple en raison de mesures de politique climatique contraignantes. Des actifs illiquides pourraient ainsi, dans des secteurs concernés, être exposés à des risques d’évaluation accrus dans les bilans d’établissements financiers. La FINMA souhaite que les établissements soumis à sa surveillance gèrent de manière appropriée ces risques financiers potentiels, liés au climat, sur les marchés financiers. C'est avant tout à eux de les réduire et de développer pour cela, si nécessaire, les instruments et processus dont ils disposent. Ces risques financiers liés au climat peuvent être décrits et saisis dans les catégories de risque traditionnelles, comme les risques de crédit, de marché, d'assurance ou les risques opérationnels. Il ne s’agit donc pas d’une nouvelle catégorie de risque, mais d’un nouveau facteur de risque. Les établissements financiers peuvent en principe s’appuyer sur la gestion des risques déjà existantes. Il faut cependant aussi saisir dans la gestion des risques les nouveaux développements de l’environnement et les nouveaux facteurs de risques et les gérer de manière appropriée.

Mesures prises par la FINMA

La FINMA détermine de son côté où des risques accrus pourraient se trouver en lien avec le changement climatique chez les établissements assujettis suisses (voir le monitorage des risques 2019). La marche à suivre est en principe comparable ici à celle d’autres facteurs de risque. Ses propres analyses, ajoutées aux échanges avec les assujettis, des associations, des organisations non gouvernementales et le monde académique, peuvent permettre de constater des risques financiers éventuellement accrus chez certains établissements. La FINMA met ici l'accent avant tout sur les grands établissements assujettis, pour lesquels des analyses spécifiques sont menées.

 

Elle s’occupe en outre, en vue de protéger les clients, des risques d’écoblanchiment dans les services financiers fournis et la distribution de produits financiers. Les clients ne doivent pas être trompés par des promesses irréalistes ou mensongères à propos des propriétés «vertes» des produits d'investissement par exemple.

 

La FINMA vérifie aussi des approches possibles pour une publication améliorée des risques financiers liés au climat. Une publication plus complète et uniforme, par les grands acteurs du marché financier, de leurs propres risques financiers liés au climat peut ajouter de la transparence et de la discipline.

 

Concernant la discussion à venir au sujet de la forme exacte que doivent prendre les mesures de politique climatique, il incombe aussi à la FINMA de sensibiliser les assujettis à l’égard de la problématique des risques correspondante. Dans l’ensemble, au niveau mondial, les établissements financiers et les autorités de surveillance sont encore, dans le domaine des risques climatiques, dans un processus de développement en vue d’une pratique établie. Ils travaillent notamment à développer et appliquer des approches et des instruments adéquats pour mesurer et atténuer les risques, tout en garantissant la publication transparente des risques correspondants. Dans ce contexte, le Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) joue, parmi les autorités de surveillance et les banques centrales, un rôle moteur.

Monitorage FINMA des risques 2020

Dernière modification: 11.11.2020 Taille: 0,48  MB
Ajouter aux favoris
Monitorage FINMA des risques 2019

Dernière modification: 10.12.2019 Taille: 0,24  MB
Ajouter aux favoris
Backgroundimage