Further development of the Swiss “too big to fail” legislation

Switzerland again played a leading role in 2015 responding to challenges related to financial institutions that are “too big to fail”. In October, the Federal Council decided to introduce higher capital requirements for global systemically important Swiss banks by the end of 2019 and to accelerate the implementation of emergency plans. Switzerland is thus the first country worldwide to introduce binding requirements for the lossabsorbing and recapitalisation capacity of its largest banks in the event of resolution.

Since the financial crisis, the regulatory and supervisory authorities in leading international financial centres have been attempting to lessen the severity of the “too big to fail” problem. The issue is particularly pressing in Switzerland as its financial sector, and in particular its two large banks, account for a significant percentage of GDP. This explains why it was one of the first countries to take action, with Swiss “too big to fail” standards being introduced into the Banking Act on 1 March 2012. From the outset, the Federal Council was to review the provisions within three years and compare them with international standards. In February 2015, the Federal Council published an evaluation report based on the recommendations33 of the expert group headed by Prof. Aymo Brunetti. While this report approved the basic design of the “too big to fail” legislation, it also advocated amending capital requirements and reviewing the implementation of emergency plans. Following publication of the report, the Federal Council called for the FDF, together with the SNB, the SIF and FINMA, to draft proposals for amending the Swiss “too big to fail” standards by the end of 2015. The working group presented its key findings to the Federal Council at the beginning of October.

On this basis, the Federal Council agreed on 21 October 2015 that in future both big Swiss banks, UBS and Credit Suisse, should have significantly more loss-absorbing capital. The aims of the higher capital requirements for these two global systemically important banks are twofold. While goingconcern capital is intended to cope with potential losses from ongoing business activities and prevent insolvency, gone-concern capital ensures the continuation of systemically important functions in the event of resolution. The gone-concern requirements can also be met fully through debt capital, which can be converted into equity if capital reserves (bail-in) prove inadequate.

The public hearing process on the new regulations is scheduled for the first quarter of 2016.

New quantitative and qualitative capital adequacy requirements

In October, the Federal Council passed more stringent requirements for global systemically important banks with regard to leverage ratio and riskweighted assets. Both these requirements are now significantly higher than in 2012. That means both large banks are now to have a total loss-absorbing capacity (TLAC) equivalent to 10% of their total exposure. The leverage ratio acts as a security net, particularly if risk weightings retrospectively turn out to be inappropriate. It is now 5% for going-concern instruments and a further 5% for bail-in capital for resolution (gone concern). The requirement expressed in terms of risk-weighted assets (RWA) should reflect the differing risk profiles of the various investment classes. The risk-weighted requirements now come to 14.3% each for going-concern and gone-concern instruments, giving a total requirement of 28.6%.

The quality of the capital instruments permitted should improve as should the quantitative minimum capital requirements. The going-concern leverage ratio requirement for Common Equity Tier 1 capital, for example, will increase by almost 50% compared to the former regulations.

Mandatory implementation of emergency plans by 2019

In line with the principles-based approach, Switzerland wants to ensure that the systemically important functions of UBS and Credit Suisse can be preserved, supported by realistic emergency plans (recovery and resolution plans) drawn up by the banks themselves. In October, in addition to defining higher capital requirements, the Federal Council set a deadline for implementing emergency plans. By adapting their corporate structures,36 the large banks have already taken the first major steps to being better prepared for resolution in the event of a crisis. However, there are still extensive intra-group interdependencies precluding the smooth continuation of systemically important functions in a crisis. The Federal Council has remedied this deficiency by making the implementation of emergency plans mandatory by the end of 2019.

Switzerland assumes a leading role

The measures approved by the Federal Council in 2015, which include the loss-absorbing capacity of 10% of total assets, will substantially strengthen the capital reserves of the two large banks from 2019 onwards. The Federal Council’s ruling of October 2015 reflects the considerable risks facing Switzerland owing to the size of its large banks in relation to the domestic economy. FINMA welcomes the decision, as it will enhance the resilience of the large banks and the stability of the financial centre. The new, improved “too big to fail” legislation means Switzerland is an international leader when it comes to binding capital requirements.

Setting up of UBS’s and Credit Suisse’s Swiss legal entities

The transfer of domestic business and systemically important functions to independent Swiss legal entities was a major step forward for the two large Swiss banks in 2015.

UBS Switzerland AG

FINMA licensed UBS Switzerland AG as a bank, securities dealer and custodian bank in the second quarter of 2015. Besides the result of FINMA’s review of standard licensing requirements under banking and stock market law, the licensing procedure also requires the fulfilment of specific demands by the global systemically important Swiss banks regarding their capital, liquidity, risk diversification and emergency planning. UBS Switzerland has since commenced operations. The transfer of banking business with private and corporate clients booked in Switzerland means the systemically important functions are all brought together within the Swiss entity. The high-risk investment banking operations of UBS AG have also been segregated. The move to a modular corporate structure significantly strengthens the resolvability of the entire financial group.

Credit Suisse (Switzerland) Ltd

Credit Suisse also plans to transfer its Swiss business from Credit Suisse AG to a separate Swiss legal entity – Credit Suisse (Switzerland) Ltd. This process is already under way for its systemically important functions, which will improve the bank’s resolvability.   

Capital requirements

The new calibration of the Swiss standards includes historic loss values, comparisons with international standards and the risk profile of the big Swiss banks.

 

Eigenmittelanforderungen 

 

(From the annual report 2015)

Développement du régime suisse too big to fail

En 2015, la Suisse a de nouveau joué un rôle moteur dans le désamorçage de la problématique du too big to fail: en octobre 2015, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d’introduire des exigences en matière de fonds propres renforcées pour les banques suisses d’importance systémique et d’accélérer la mise en oeuvre des plans d’urgence. La Suisse est ainsi le premier pays au monde à adopter des règles contraignantes concernant la capacité à supporter les pertes et de recapitalisation de ses grandes banques pour les cas d’assainissement et de liquidation.

Depuis la crise financière, les autorités de régulation et de surveillance des principales places financières internationales tentent de désamorcer la problématique du too big to fail. La résolution de ce problème est primordiale pour la Suisse, car son secteur financier, et plus particulièrement les deux grandes banques, est très important par rapport au produit intérieur brut. Aussi, la Suisse a-t-elle réagi rapidement: les standards régissant le dispositif too big to fail sont en effet réglés dans la loi sur les banques depuis le 1er mars 2012. Dès le départ, il avait été prévu que le Conseil fédéral vérifierait les dispositions too big to fail au plus tard trois ans après leur entrée en vigueur et les comparerait avec les standards internationaux applicables. Sur la base des recommandations du groupe d’experts dirigé par le professeur Aymo Brunetti, le Conseil fédéral a publié un rapport d’évaluation en février 2015. Il y a estimé que l’orientation suivie par l’actuel régime too big to fail était en principe appropriée. Il a par ailleurs décelé un besoin d’ajustement des exigences en matière de fonds propres et de l’applicabilité des plans d’urgence. Après la publication du rapport, le Conseil fédéral a chargé le DFF d’élaborer jusqu’à la fin 2015 des propositions en vue de l’adaptation des standards suisses too big to fail, en collaboration avec la BNS, le SFI et la FINMA. Début octobre 2015, le groupe de travail a présenté les règles-cadres correspondantes au Conseil fédéral.

Sur cette base, le Conseil fédéral a décidé le 21 octobre 2015 que les grandes banques suisses UBS et Credit Suisse devraient à l’avenir disposer d’un capital supportant les pertes beaucoup plus important. Les exigences accrues en matière de fonds propres pour les deux banques d’importance systémique à l’échelle mondiale en Suisse poursuivent deux objectifs: le capital going concern vise à absorber les pertes éventuelles dans le cadre de l’activité courante afin d’empêcher l’insolvabilité d’une grande banque. Le capital gone concern doit garantir le maintien des fonctions d’importance systémique, même si la banque doit être liquidée ou assainie. Les exigences en cas de cessation d’activité (gone concern) peuvent aussi être entièrement satisfaites avec des capitaux de tiers qui peuvent être convertis en fonds propres en cas de dotation en capital insuffisante (bail-in).

La procédure d’audition publique relative aux nouvelles prescriptions sera vraisemblablement achevée au premier trimestre 2016.

Nouvelles exigences quantitatives et qualitatives concernant la dotation en capital

Concrètement, le Conseil fédéral a décidé en octobre 2015 de durcir les prescriptions pour les banques d’importance systémique à l’échelle mondiale, tant en ce qui concerne le ratio de fonds propres non pondéré (leverage ratio) que les actifs pondérés en fonction du risque (RWA). Comparativement au régime too big to fail de 2012, ces deux exigences ont été significativement renforcées. Ainsi, un potentiel de couverture des pertes (TLAC) représentant en tout 10 % de l’exposition globale doit désormais s’appliquer pour les deux grandes banques. Le ratio de levier (leverage ratio) sert de filet de sécurité et doit notamment entrer en action si les pondérations- risque devaient s’avérer inappropriées a posteriori. Le ratio de levier est désormais de 5 % pour les instruments going concern et de 5 % supplémentaires pour le capital de bail-in en cas d’assainissement ou de liquidation (gone concern). La spécification en pourcentage des RWA doit refléter les risques plus ou moins élevés de différents actifs. Les exigences pondérées en fonction du risque représentent désormais 14,3 % pour les instruments going concern et 14,3 % de plus pour les instruments gone concern. L’exigence globale est donc de 28,6 %.

La qualité des instruments de capital utilisés doit également être améliorée en plus des exigences quantitatives minimales concernant le capital. Ainsi les exigences concernant le ratio de levier going concern des fonds propres de base durs augmentent de près de 50 % par rapport au régime antérieur.

Mise en oeuvre impérative des plans d’urgence d’ici 2019

Dans le sens de l’approche fondée sur des principes, la Suisse souhaite assurer le maintien des fonctions d’importance systémique d’UBS et de Credit Suisse en cas de crise grâce à des plans d’urgence efficaces (recovery and resolution plans) dont la définition incombe aux grandes banques. Outre la définition d’exigences accrues en matière de fonds propres, le Conseil fédéral a donc fixé en octobre 2015 un délai pour la mise en oeuvre des plans d’urgences. En adaptant les structures de leur groupe, les grandes banques ont déjà entrepris de premières démarches importantes afin de faciliter leur assainissement ou leur liquidation en cas de crise. Il subsiste néanmoins d’importantes imbrications internes au groupe qui empêchent encore pour l’instant la poursuite correcte des fonctions d’importance systémique en cas de crise. Le Conseil fédéral a éliminé ce point faible en prescrivant désormais la mise en oeuvre impérative des plans d’urgence d’ici la fin 2019.

Un rôle de premier plan pour la Suisse

Du fait des prescriptions adoptées par le Conseil fédéral en 2015, les deux grandes banques disposeront dès 2019 d’une dotation en capital bien meilleure, grâce à un potentiel de couverture des pertes correspondant à 10 % de la somme du bilan. La décision du Conseil fédéral d’octobre 2015 reflète les risques accrus qui découlent pour la Suisse de la taille des grandes banques suisses par rapport à la performance économique. La FINMA salue cette décision qui renforce la capacité de résistance des grandes banques et la stabilité de la place financière. En développant le régime too big to fail, la Suisse détermine des exigences de pointe en matière de fonds propres.


Création des entités juridiques suisses d’UBS et de Credit Suisse

En transférant les transactions domestiques et les fonctions d’importance systémique dans des unités juridiques suisses autonomes, les deux grandes banques suisses ont fait un grand pas en avant en 2015.

UBS Switzerland SA

Au deuxième trimestre 2015, la FINMA a octroyé à UBS Switzerland SA l’autorisation d’exercer en tant que banque, négociant en valeurs mobilières et banque dépositaire. Outre le résultat du contrôle des conditions d’autorisation classiques selon la loi sur les banques et la loi sur les bourses, la décision d’autorisation définit également les exigences particulières en matière de fonds propres, de liquidités, de répartition des risques et de planification d’urgence envers les banques suisses d’importance systémique à l’échelle mondiale. UBS Switzerland a depuis débuté son activité opérationnelle. Grâce à l’externalisation des opérations bancaires avec des clients privés et entreprises comptabilisées en Suisse, les fonctions d’importance systémique sont regroupées dans l’unité suisse. La banque d’investissement, plus risquée, est par ailleurs dissociée, sa gestion étant assurée par UBS SA. La transition vers une structure modulaire du groupe améliore considérablement la capacité de liquidation du groupe financier dans son ensemble.

Credit Suisse (Suisse) SA

Credit Suisse prévoit également de transférer l’activité suisse de Credit Suisse AG dans une unité juridique suisse séparée, Credit Suisse (Suisse) SA. La capacité de liquidation de la banque doit être améliorée, en dissociant notamment ex ante les fonctions d’importance systémique. 

Exigences en matière de fonds propres

Le nouveau calibrage des exigences suisses prend en compte les pertes historiques enregistrées, les standards internationaux comme éléments de comparaison ainsi que le profil de risque des grandes banques helvétiques.

 
Eigenmittelanforderungen

(Extraits du rapport annuel 2015)