Dossier: Too big to fail

Due to the financial crisis of 2007 and 2008, large and globally connected financial institutions had to be rescued by the state in many places throughout the world. To prevent this from happening in Switzerland in the future, parliament has introduced targeted regulation. Implementation of the relevant provisions is under way.
From the Annual Report 2018

“Too big to fail” – the long road to the orderly resolvability

Struktur

A systemically important bank fulfils one or more key functions in the economy whose failure or unavailability would cause serious disruption to the financial system and have a knock-on impact on the real economy.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2018

Overview of recovery and resolution

Zuständigkeiten

The ongoing work of the systemically important banks on their recovery and emergency plans was the main focus at FINMA in 2018.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2015

Further development of the Swiss “too big to fail” legislation

Eigenmittel

Switzerland again played a leading role in 2015 responding to challenges related to financial institutions that are “too big to fail”. In October, the Federal Council decided to introduce higher capital requirements for global systemically important Swiss banks by the end of 2019 and to accelerate the implementation of emergency plans.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2014

Progress on resolving the “too big to fail” issue

tbtf

Further key measures to improve the resolvability of global systemically important banks were launched internationally in 2014. Credit Suisse Group and UBS are adjusting their group structures accordingly.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2014

At a glance: the TLAC concept

tlac

The FSB has been instructed by the G-20 to develop the total loss-absorbing capacity concept for global systemically important banks. A public consultation was launched in November 2014.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2013

Resolution strategy

Sanierung

The core element of FINMA’s resolution strategy for globally active systemically important banks is that creditors should be compelled to bear a share of the losses. This bail-in reduces the implicit state guarantee and restores order to the market.

To the content

Dossier: Too big to fail

En conséquence de la crise financière des années 2007 et 2008, l’Etat a dû intervenir dans de nombreux pays pour sauver de grands établissements financiers liés les uns aux autres. Le Parlement a conçu une règlementation ciblée pour éviter cela en Suisse à l’avenir. La mise en œuvre de ces prescriptions est en cours.
Extraits du rapport annuel 2018

Too big to fail: le long chemin partout dans le monde des grandes banques vers la capacité à se faire assainir ou liquider de manière ordonnée

Struktur

Les banques d’importance systémique accomplissent une ou plusieurs fonctions importantes pour l’économie. Leur défaillance entraverait gravement le fonctionnement du système financier et affecterait l’économie réelle.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2018

Vue d’ensemble des activités de recovery et de resolution

Zuständigkeiten

Durant l’année 2018, la FINMA s’est concentrée sur l’accompagnement des efforts des banques d’importance systémique relatifs à leurs plans d’urgence et de stabilisation.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2015

Développement du régime suisse too big to fail

Eigenmittel

En 2015, la Suisse a de nouveau joué un rôle moteur dans le désamorçage de la problématique du too big to fail : en octobre 2015, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d’introduire des exigences en matière de fonds propres renforcées pour les banques suisses d’importance systémique et d’accélérer la mise en oeuvre des plans d’urgence.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2014

Progrès dans la résolution de la problématique du too big to fail

tbtf

D’autres éléments importants destinés à améliorer la capacité de liquidation des banques d’importance systémique mondiale ont été initiés en 2014. Credit Suisse Group et UBS adaptent leurs structures de groupe conformément aux évolutions de la réglementation.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2014

En bref: le concept de la TLAC

tlac

Sur ordre du G20, le Conseil de stabilité financière élabore le concept de la capacité totale à supporter les pertes (TLAC) pour les banques d’importance systémique à l’échelle mondiale. Il a engagé une audition publique à ce propos en novembre 2014.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2014

Stratégie d’assainissement et de liquidation

Sanierung

La participation obligatoire des créanciers aux pertes constitue l’élément principal de la stratégie d’assainissement et de liquidation de la FINMA pour les banques d’importance systémique actives à l’échelle internationale. Ce bail-in réduit la garantie implicite de l’Etat et rétablit le régime du marché.

Vers le contenu