FinTech dossier

Innovation is an important part of maintaining competitiveness in the Swiss financial centre. FINMA pays close attention to the challenges arising from FinTech regarding licensing requirements, supervision and regulation. This page provides key information on this topic.
From the Annual Report 2021

Innovation 2021

Technological innovation is also opening up a wide range of opportunities for new and enhanced processes and business models in the financial markets. FINMA actively monitored these innovations in 2021 in order to offer financial institutions modern regulatory conditions adapted to the technological possibilities.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2021

Decentralized Finance (DeFi)

Many projects submitted enquiries to FINMA from the emerging area of “decentralised finance” in the year under review. This term describes a new form of openly accessible financial services.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2021

Artificial intelligence in the Swiss financial market

The area of “artificial intelligence” (AI) and in particular “machine learning” has seen spectacular progress in the last decade.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2020

Innovation 2020

The potential for technological innovation in financial markets is significant. FINMA actively contributed to shaping the regulatory conditions for innovative technologies, particularly distributed ledger technology, in the year under review.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2020

FinTech: progress and status report 2020

In the past few years, a key priority for FINMA has been dealing with enquiries in connection with FinTech-based business models. In 2020 alone it conducted around 100 preliminary investigations in this context. A substantial driver for this was the large number of initial coin offerings (ICOs) in Switzerland.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2019

Innovation and supervision 2019

FINMA responded to the numerous enquiries concerning “stable coins” ­projects with a supplement to its initial coin offerings guidelines. The FinTech licence has meanwhile also been attracting interest.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2018

Developments in FinTech

Fintech

FINMA received a large number of FinTech queries during the reporting year. The guidelines for initial coin offerings (ICOs) published on 16 February 2018 were very well received on a national and international level.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2017

Financial technology and digitalisation (2017)

Anfragen 2017

Blockchain was the dominant topic in 2017 and the subject of a FINMA roundtable discussion in May. Two events of regulatory significance were the introduction of a sandbox and the expost review of FINMA Circular 2016/7 “Video
and online identification”.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2016

Financial technology and digitalisation (2016)

Since 2013, FINMA has been paying close attention to the challenges arising from new technological developments in finance (FinTech) regarding licensing requirements, supervision and regulation. FINMA revised one circular and issued another to enable video and online identification and the digital conclusion of asset management agreements.

To the content
From the Annual Report 2015

Financial technology and digitalisation (2015)

FINMA is helping improve conditions promoting innovation in financial technology and digitalisation. It is taking steps to lower barriers to competition and promote technology-neutral regulation. It is also creating centralised access to information for start-ups.

To the content

Backgroundimage

Dossier Fintech

L’innovation est un facteur essentiel pour la compétitivité de la place financière suisse. La FINMA analyse attentivement les défis liés aux Fintech, que ce soit pour les questions d’autorisation ou dans les domaines de la surveillance ou de la réglementation. Cette page résume les principales informations sur ce sujet.
Extraits du rapport annuel 2021

Innovation 2021

Les innovations techniques offrent de nombreuses opportunités de processus et de modèles d’affaires nouveaux et optimisés sur les marchés financiers. En 2021, la FINMA a activement accompagné ces nouveautés, afin d’offrir aux établissements financiers des conditions réglementaires modernes et adaptées aux possibilités technologiques.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2021

Finance décentralisée (DeFi)

Durant l’exercice sous revue, de nombreuses demandes s’inscrivant dans le cadre de projets relevant du nouveau domaine de la finance décentralisée (decentralized finance) ont été adressées à la FINMA. On entend par là une forme nouvelle de services financiers librement accessibles.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2021

L’intelligence artificielle sur le marché financier suisse

Au cours de la dernière décennie, le secteur de l’«intelligence artificielle» (AI) et notamment l’«apprentissage automatique» ont fait des progrès spectaculaires.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2020

Innovation 2020

Le potentiel des innovations techniques sur les marchés financiers est considérable. Durant l’exercice sous revue, la FINMA s’est activement engagée dans la définition des bases réglementaires pour les technologies innovantes, notamment pour la technologie des registres distribués.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2020

Fintech: rapport d’expérience et d’état

Ces dernières années, la FINMA s’est penchée de manière approfondie sur les questions d’assujettissement liées aux modèle d’affaires fondés sur les Fintech. Pour la seule année 2020, elle a mené une centaine d’investigations préliminaires dans ce contexte. Le grand nombre d’ICO réalisées en Suisse a été le principal facteur à l’origine de cette évolution.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2019

Innovation et surveillance 2019

La FINMA a réagi aux nombreuses demandes de projets concernant les stablecoins en complétant le guide pratique consacré aux initial coin offerings. Pendant ce temps, l’autorisation Fintech a également suscité un certain intérêt.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2018

Les évolutions dans le domaine des Fintech

Fintech

L’année sous revue a été marquée par le nombre élevé de demandes adressées à la FINMA dans le domaine des Fintech. Le guide pratique ICO publié le 16 février 2018 a suscité un vif intérêt aux plans national et international.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2017

Les technologies financières et la numérisation (2017)

Anfragen 2017

L’année 2017 a été dominée par la thématique des blockchains. La FINMA a organisé une table ronde à ce sujet dès le mois de mai. En matière de réglementation, l’introduction du bac à sable et la revue ex post de la circulaire «Identification par vidéo et en ligne» ont notamment été à l’ordre du jour.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2016

Technologies financières et numérisation (2016)

Depuis 2013, la FINMA s’intéresse de près aux défis posés par les évolutions technologiques dans le domaine financier (Fintech), tant pour ce qui est des questions d’autorisation que pour ce qui concerne la surveillance et la réglementation.

Vers le contenu
Extraits du rapport annuel 2015

Technologie financière et numérisation (2015)

La FINMA contribue à l’amélioration des conditions-cadres de l’innovation dans la technologie financière et la numérisation. Elle concrétise les réflexions sur la réduction des obstacles à la concurrence, une réglementation neutre du point de vue technologique et crée un accès central à l’information pour les entreprises émergentes.

Vers le contenu

Backgroundimage